Medicare Parts Explained | Occupational Therapy Reference

There are 4 parts to Medicare: Part A, Part B, Part C, and Part D.

Part A (Hospital Insurance)

Admitted starts with the letter A, as in admitted to the hospital, SNF, etc.

  • Inpatient hospital care
  • Skilled nursing facility care
  • Hospice care
  • Home health care

Part B (Medical Insurance)

Benefits starts with the letter B, as in medical benefits.

  • Services from doctors and other healthcare providers
  • Outpatient care
  • Home health care
  • Durable medical equipment (e.g., wheelchairs, walkers, hospital beds)
  • Preventive services (e.g., screenings, vaccinations, wellness visits)

Part C

  • Medicare Advantage: Medicare obtained through a private health insurance company, e.g., Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Aetna
  • Offers an alternative to Original Medicare for your health and drug coverage.
  • May offer some extra benefits that Original Medicare doesn’t cover — like vision, hearing, and dental services.
  • May have lower out-of-pocket costs than Original Medicare.
  • “Bundled” plans include Part A, Part B, and usually Part D.
  • Need to use doctors who are in the plan’s network.

Part D (Drug Coverage)

  • Prescription drug coverage (Drug starts with the letter D.)
  • Recommended shots or vaccines

Medicare Supplemental Insurance (Medigap)

  • Extra insurance you can buy from a private company that helps pay your share of costs in original Medicare.
  • Policies are standardized, and in most states named by letters, like Plan G or Plan K.
  • Benefits in each lettered plan are the same, no matter which insurance company sells it.